In line with the 2015 Paris Climate Change conference, Luxembourg, Metz, Saarbrücken and Trier are stepping up cooperation in the energy and climate change field.

QuattroPole Declaration on Climate Protection (2015)

In October 2015, the Board of the QuattroPole association met during a conference at the Metz City hall to sign the QuattroPole Declaration on Climate Change. In this Declaration, the Mayors of the four cities undertake to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, to increase the proportion of renewable energy in the energy mix and to reduce overall energy consumption. In it, they indicate that the main areas for action, apart from the production and distribution of energy, are public transport and waste repurposing.